16-year-old Zach Morris jumps into WISL at goalkeeper for Vancouver Victory

WISL Logo_150VANCOUVER, WA— The Western Indoor Soccer League is an elite men’s indoor competition with mostly college age and older players. We say ‘mostly,’ because sometimes a player comes along who doesn’t fit the age generaliztion. Tyler Hughes is a field player who has seen time both outdoors and indoors with Bellingham United, including playing in last year’s WISL Final. This season the league will see 16-year-old Zach Morris in goal for Vancouver Victory.

New Season: The entire 2015-16 WISL schedule

Zach is already doing things his way. He is completing his diploma via an online high school. The Victory noticed his play during their outdoor training in the Evergreen Premier League. “I knew Sunny Dulai with the Victory from my time with ODP,” Zach says. “He invited me to come train with the EPL outdoor team last season during pre-season. I have always loved to play indoor soccer and went to open tryouts for the indoor team.” Zach says of playing inside and out, “Outdoor (soccer) needs more focus. You may or may not get a shot the whole game whereas indoor is much faster paced with a lot more action.”

No one should feel the least bit sorry for Zach as he wades into the WISL waters trying to stop full-grown men. Zach is 6’1 and 190 pounds. He’ll be ready. “You have to step up and play at their level. The speed of play is a lot faster and the games are a lot more physical,” he says of adult play. “I’m used to playing with adults since I play in two different men’s outdoor leagues. That has helped me become a bigger presence in the goal.”

Zach’s soccer career is already a lengthy one. We asked him for a recap, and we got one. Ready, set, go! “I have played Club Soccer with FC Portland since 2011 when my family moved to Washington from South Carolina. I played with the Carolina Elite Soccer Academy before that. I Started and played 83 of 91 games since 2011 logging 6065 minutes with the FC Portland Navy Team. With FC Portland I recorded a 1.027 GAA and 39 shut-outs. In 2011 I was invited to the National ID camp held in Portland OR. In 2012, I began playing for the Portland Timbers Olympic Development Program (ODP). I also competed in the US Club Soccer National Finals in Denver, CO with FC Portland. In 2013 my FC Portland U15 team won the US v2fc-full-color-crest-croppedYouth Soccer Region IV Championships in Seattle, WA. In 2014, I was invited to the Region IV training camp and went on to represent Region IV in the 2014 US Youth Soccer Interregional tournament at the IMG Academy in Florida. I was one of 18 players chosen from players from all the players in the western part of the country to play on this team. I also joined IPS (International Portland Select) of the Oregon Premier Soccer League’s 1st Division Men’s Open Amateur League. I helped IPS reach the Oregon Premier Soccer League finals in the fall of 2014. In 2015, I played for the Washington State Elite Player Development Academy where I represented Washington State in the Olympic Development Championship tournament in Phoenix, AZ. In April of 2015, I was named the United States Youth Soccer Player of the Month. Later in 2015, I was loaned from FC Portland Academy to the Portland Timbers U-18 US Soccer Development Academy and saw game time in the United States and Canada. Most recently, I traveled with my FC Portland Team to San Diego, CA to compete in the 2015 SurfCup where we were semi-finalists among some of the best teams in the United States. I continue to play with FC Portland, IPS, & most recently, the PDX Internationals of the Greater Portland Soccer District’s 1st division Men’s Open Amateur League. I’m very excited to play for the Vancouver Victory in the upcoming WISL Season.”

V2FC-Bellingham-invite-1
Zach with his new indoor men’s team, V2FC.

Now comes an indoor experience. It kicks off as Vancouver plays its first-ever WISL match this Saturday in Bellingham against the Hammers of United. “I hope to see as much game time as possible to add value to my team. Most of all, I’m really looking forward to meeting the fans and inspiring younger goalkeepers to never give up and work hard. Of Course, I want to help win the championship as well!”

Longterm Zach sees soccer, soccer, soccer. “I want to play soccer in college and eventually play professionally.  Playing semi-pro soccer with the Victory is giving me a solid foundation for my future.  I’m very grateful for the experience and the faith (Victory owner) Barrett Goddard and the coaching staff has put in me.”

Zach-800

One thought on “16-year-old Zach Morris jumps into WISL at goalkeeper for Vancouver Victory

Leave a comment