Peninsula Pirates to honor 2010 Men’s team

PORT ANGELES, WA – Peninsula College will induct five new members into its Pirate Athletics Hall of Fame at on Saturday, June 4 at the Peninsula Golf Course Clubhouse.

The evening will celebrate the 2010 Peninsula College Men’s Soccer Team, Howard “Scooter” Chapman, Jim Clem, the late Jim Lunt, and Rosemary Moorhead. It begins with a social hour at 6 p.m. and the induction ceremony will follow at 7 p.m.

The 2014 Hall of Fame Inductees in attendance, including members of the 1970 Pirate men’s basketball team, the late Art Feiro, the late Dr. Wally Sigmar, Kathy Murphy-Carey and Jerry Allen, also will be recognized.

Pirate fans, friends, and family members of the inductees are invited to attend. Admission is free and no pre-registration is required. There will be snack food and a no-host bar.

“It promises to be a very special evening,” said Rick Ross, Associate Dean for Athletics and Student Life. “I’m looking forward to reuniting with all of these former Pirates, and Pirate supporters, and hearing their stories.”

The event is sponsored by Windermere Real Estate.


From the Peninsula Daily News:

pcc-piratesThe 2010 Peninsula Pirates became the second team in the college’s history to win a championship, but the first to win a Northwest Athletic Association of Community Colleges title.

The 1970 men’s basketball team won the crown when it was the Washington Athletic Conference. Years later the WAC expanded to include Oregon colleges and the NWAACC, now Northwest Athletic Conference, was formed.

That Pirates went 13-3-4 overall and 8-3-2 in West Division play, claiming the West championship by one point over Bellevue.

The Peninsula men scored only 36 goals, sixth-best in the NWAC that year, and allowed only 18, which was the third-best mark.

The Pirates played Highline to a scoreless tie in the NWAC championship and then earned the trophy by winning a thrilling 5-4 shootout.

Miguel Gonzalez, who now plays professionally for the Colorado Springs Switchbacks in the United Soccer League, led the Pirates in scoring with 15 goals and four assists in 2010.

Andrew Chapman was named NWAC Coach of the Year. He was assisted that year by Kanyon Anderson and Tim Tucker.

“That was such a great night in the history of Peninsula College athletics,” Associate Dean of Athletics Rick Ross said.

“Coach Chapman and his men opened the door for all the teams that followed to realize what was possible from a small community college tucked away in our corner of the state.

“We’ve won seven other NWAC championships in soccer and basketball since that night.”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: