Gig Harbor’s Brittany Schroeder scores first goal in NWPL history

brittany_schroeder
Brittany Schroeder, circled, scored the first goal in NWPL history. (Shock photo)

LAKEWOOD, WA— It is fitting that a club that bills itself as a blue collar, ‘working class’ outfit would find a way to score the first goal in Northwest Premier League history.

That’s exactly what the South Sound FC Shock did on Sunday May 1 as they hosted the Twin City Union at Harry Lang Stadium in the first-ever NWPL match.

ssfc-500The historic goal came in the 47th minute when the right pass met the right player. The pass came from Hanna Massee and ended up being converted by Gig Harbor native Brittany Schroeder.

“I grew up playing for Harbor FC and Gig Harbor High School, but to be honest I don’t have a very impressive resume in terms of soccer!” Brittany says. “After high school, I went to the University of Montana where I competed in division 1 track and field. Since graduating in 2013 I’ve been playing rec soccer for our local Hanks Bar with Comeback Sports.”harbor-soccer-club

So the working class club makes history with a working class kind of player. It’s a perfect connection.

“I think my speed has always been my greatest attribute on the soccer field,” says Schroeder, “and I used that speed to help me get behind the defense on Sunday to score the first goal for South Sound women. I couldn’t have asked for a better through ball from Hanna Massee, she set me up perfectly and I just focused on taking a positive touch towards the goal and then staying composed to finish.”

1stscoresheet
Score sheet says: Schroeder, ’47.

wpbe77783d_05_06You’d expect a blue collar player to share the love, and Brittany comes through again. “I’m thrilled to have scored the first goal for us, but I’m more excited about the solid performance we had as a team on Sunday. Emily Wilkins had a great one-time finish off a beautiful cross from Shelby Vaver, and our defense came away with a shut out! I’m excited about the potential for this team and look forward to our continued success. We’ve got a fun, talented group of girls and awesome coaches to guide us. Can’t wait to rattle the NWPL this season, Go Shock!”

South Sound’s next match is Sunday May 8 when the Shock visit Seattle Stars at French Field in Kent at 3:30 PM.

NWPL Primary Crest

Leave a Reply

