Entire Olympia High Girls Soccer staff resigns

bearsOLYMPIA, WA— Back on April 4 The Olympian reported that the staff of the Bears’ girls soccer team had resigned.  At the time the Olympia Athletic Director had no comment, and former head coach Tessa Effland gave a general departing quote: “It’s been pretty awesome, but it’s definitely time. I think the girls and the parents are looking for something new, so our coaching staff stepped down.”

Now Eli Sports Network has posted a different slant on the mass resignations. ESN reports there was an investigation into the soccer program and subsequent release of findings.
Numerous allegations are listed, and when the results were made public, the staff decided to leave.
Effland told ESN: “I have loved my 15 years as head coach at OHS. I have always given all I am to the program.  I have never nor would I ever with any intention or knowledge make a player feel harassed or bullied. I have tried to promote  a hard work ethic, team first attitude and believe this will continue on for years to come. It has been a difficult process for the entire staff. Much of what was alleged was in fact truth as I stated above but  much of what was alleged was perception or simply not  factual. It has become impossible to fight this investigation and  protect my kids and  my family.   I cannot drag my kids through anymore and not keep my word to the players that trusted me with information.”
Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

