Pumas sign All-PDL Defender Kalem Scott

BREMERTON, WA — (club report)  The Kitsap Pumas have announced the signing of defender Kalem Scott. Scott, who most recently anchored the FC Tucson side that defeated Kitsap in the 2015 Western Conference semifinal, joins a Pumas defense that only conceded four goals in Northwest Division play last season. (Cover photo from FC Tucson.)

“Although I will miss my teammates, the coaches and all the great fans in Tucson, I am really looking forward to this new opportunity,” Scott said. “Kitsap has a great reputation, and I am excited to be a part of the club.”

Scott’s consistent play for FC Tucson was capped with receiving top individual league honors in the form of selections to both the PDL All-Western Conference team and the All-PDL team.

“Kalem adds important depth to a back line that gave up very few goals last season and was the backbone of our team,” Pumas head coach Cameron MacDonald said. “We’re always looking to strengthen our defense to ensure continuity.”

Following his exceptional season in the PDL last year, Scott spent the past four and a half months traveling the country on trial for various professional clubs such as Sporting Kansas City, Oklahoma City Energy FC and Arizona United.

“Things really started to take off for me after last season,” Scott said. “I was exposed to a lot of different coaching styles and tactics over the past few months, and I think that has really helped with my development.”

After tirelessly working his way up through the Canadian youth soccer ranks, Scott was selected to the Vancouver Whitecaps Residency program. However, he was released after only one year and enrolled at Trinity Western University in British Columbia, where Scott remained steadfast in his commitment to develop his game.

“Ever since I was a kid, I have loved the game, and it has always been the only sport I wanted to play,” Scott said. “Since then, I have had times where I wasn’t at my best, but I never let any one coach’s opinion or any one bad day affect me. I always try to find positives to move forward with from everything, and I think my persistence is one of my best attributes.”

In addition to his collegiate experience and time with FC Tucson, Scott also played two seasons for Kitsap’s Northwest Division rivals the Victoria Highlanders. With three years of PDL experience under his belt, Scott vows to finally achieve one of his long-standing goals.

“I want to win the national championship,” Scott said. “I have been in the PDL for a few years, and I know what it takes to be successful at this level. I have already made it to the national semifinals, and I think with a little extra hard work and positivity, we will have a great chance to win it all.”

Transaction: Kitsap Pumas sign defender Kalem Scott on March 30, 2016

Kalem Scott
Position: Defender
Height: 5-9
Weight: 170
Born: July 17, 1994
Hometown: Comox, B.C.
Citizenship: Canada
Acquired: Signed on March 30, 2016

The Kitsap Pumas enter their eighth season in the Premier Development League in 2016 after winning the Northwest Division for the fourth time in 2015. The Pumas won the PDL national championship in 2011 and advanced to the national final again in 2014, establishing themselves as a reputable professional club with a proven record of moving players onto the next level in the process. Kitsap plays its home matches at Gordon Field, an intimate 1,500-capacity stadium on the Kitsap County Fairgrounds in Bremerton, Wash.

— #AllezPumas —

Leave a Reply

